RSS Feed

2013 Barbie vs. 1966 Barbie

1966vs2013

My mom was cleaning out the garage today when she stumbled upon some of her old Barbies! One of them was in very good condition and I decided to do a post on the similarities and differences of the 2013 and 1966 dolls.

1966barbie

I’m so happy I was able to get my hands on an old Barbie doll! She is a great addition to my doll collection. I think the most obvious difference is the face paint. She wears a little eyeshadow and lipstick, but doesn’t overdue it like I think the current Barbie does. She came with a ring that goes through her hand. She can bend at the shoulder, the top of her legs, and can turn at the waist. 2013 Barbie can only bend at the shoulder and top of her legs.

2013barbie

This model was made in 2013, but I picked her up for around $10-$15 at Target a few months ago. She also came with a bracelet and purse. Both dolls don’t have pierced ears. She can’t share clothes with 1966 Barbie because she is skinnier. She is made out of a harder plastic. They can’t share shoes because 1966 has larger ankles. She is also taller than the 1966 doll.

IMG_7973 IMG_7975

The old Barbie was made in 1966 in the Philippines. The new Barbie was made in 2013 in China.

I hope you enjoyed learning about the old and new Barbies. Comment below which doll is your favorite!

Have fun with your doll!

Untitled (1)

13 responses »

  1. Glad to see you back writing. It was great to see the different dolls. Love ya

    Reply
  2. How is that possible?

    Reply
  3. Great research Shannon – I enjoyed reading about the differences over the years!

    Reply
  4. I totally like the old one better! I agree- they have way too much makeup on the new dolls!

    CutePolarBear

    Reply
  5. Those are just like the ones I had. Newer isn’t always better is it? Thanks for the interesting facts on the Barbies!

    Reply
  6. clarascraftcorner14

    Hi, Shannon! I nominated you for an award on my blog!

    Reply
  7. I wish I had an older one – they resembled what younger girls are like better.

    Reply
  8. Sorry to say but that Barbie isn’t from 1966. More like 1986.

    Reply
  9. Actually the doll’s back says 1966!

    Reply
  10. Magnificent site. Plenty of useful information here.
    I am sending it to some pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.

    And obviously, thankk you for your effort!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

